Mar 14, 2009

Gilbert Galindo

Gilbert Galindo (b. 1982)
Gilbert Galindo’s music has been heard at venues and festivals in the United States, Germany, and Scotland. He has received commissions from the Chicago Fine Arts Society, Duo Petrarca, and the Lone Star Brass with additional premieres and performances from the Midland Odessa Symphony, Northwestern University Symphony Orchestra, Bard Institute Composers Orchestra, the ai ensemble, pianist Mabel Kwan, and ensemble dal niente. He is a recipient of the 2008 Van Lier Fellowship from Meet The Composer, two BMI Student Composer Awards (2006 & 2008), a first place winner in the Ohio Federation of Music Clubs 2006 Young Composers Contest, a winner in Northwestern University’s first orchestral competition in 2004, the Cacavas Award, two awards from the Chicago Union League Civic & Arts Foundation 2003 Music Composition Contest, and Northwestern’s William T. Faricy Award for Creative Music. His teachers in composition have been Samuel Adler, Margaret Brouwer, Jason Eckardt, Donald Freund, William Karlins, Zhou Long, Augusta Read Thomas, Amnon Wolman, and Jay Alan Yim. He received a B.M. in music composition and outreach and education in music in 2004 from Northwestern University where he co-founded the new music group Exposure-musicians for new music and a M.M. in music composition from the Cleveland Institute of Music in 2006 where he served as conductor and graduate assistant of the CIM New Music Ensemble. Additional studies include the Bard Conductor's Institute, the Freie Universität International Summer University Composition Course in Berlin, Germany on scholarship from the DAAD, and the Brevard Music Festival. His music is available from Cuicatl Publications (BMI) in New York City.

Lost in the Caves (2008)
Unfamiliar landscapes
A night of new encounters, of new escapes
The joy, the thrill the excitement of the unknown
Absolutely clueless
What bliss!
(World Premiere)

For more information, score and sound samples, please visit: